
The Sword Expansion 
Using the Expansion 
The inclusion of the Sword Expansion is optional. You may use all, some or none of its components. 

 

There are no requirements to have any of the other expansions in use. 

 

Included in this set are five Elven Sword, Sword Deck Cards; One Excalibur, Sword Deck Card; One Elven Sword, 

Adventure Card; Sword in the Stone, Adventure Card; Merlin, Adventure Card; Elven Smiths, Adventure Card; 

Arthur, Character Card; Arthur, Character Token and this Rules Leaflet. 

 

 

Excalibur 
To Obtain the sword Excalibur, a Character must encounter 

the "Sword in the Stone" place and attempt to remove the 

sword. (See below) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Sword in the Stone 
When this Card is first drawn it is placed on the Ruins 

space. 

Whenever a Character lands on this Place, they may 

attempt to take the Sword. Roll under your "current" Craft 

on six dice. If Successful, discard this card and take 

Excalibur from the Sword deck. 

Sword in the Stone is immune to Closed Shop and 

Ragnarok. It is also immune to the Destruction Spell. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Elven Smiths 
Any Character, of any Alignment, may visit the "Elven 

Smiths" place, and exchange any Sword for one of the 

Elven Swords available from the Sword deck. 

 

When there are no longer any Eleven Swords available 

from the Sword deck, the Elven Smiths will the close up 

shop. The Elven Smiths card goes to the discard pile. 

 

When you visit the Elven Smiths, you may miss your next 

turn. 

 

If you miss your next turn, you may exchange any one 

Sword for one from the Sword deck for the cost of one 

gold. Discard your Sword, and replace it with one of the 

Elven Swords from the Sword Deck. 



The Elven Sword Cards 
Each Sword in the Expansion has the special back, and a 

blue sword either side of the image. There are five different 

images available for each of the Elven Swords.  

 

Also included in this set is an Elven Sword for the 

Adventure deck. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merlin 
Merlin will only become the follower of a Character 

carrying the Sword Excalibur. 

 

Whilst Merlin is your follower you may add up to three to 

your Craft in Psychic Combat. 

Should you lose Excalibur for any reason, Merlin will leave 

you and go to the discard pile. 



Arthur 
1. At the start of the game, Arthur starts in the Village. Should Arthur acquire 

the Sword Excalibur, he is proclaimed King; and his starting place will now 

be the Royal Castle. 

2. Arthur is always of Good Alignment. Ignore all instructions to change 

Alignment. 

3. When Arthur attempts to remove the Sword from the Stone, he may deduct up 

to three from the dice roll. 

 

4. Optional: Whilst Merlin is the follower of Arthur, he can never loose the 

Sword Excalibur. 

5. Optional: When Arthur loses his last Life, both Excalibur and Merlin go to 

the discard pile. 

 

 

The last two options on Arthur's Character card are Optional if all Players to their use or exclusion, as appropriate. The 

optional rules  are not displayed on the Character Card as the illustration below shows. 


