RULES

1. Where a card says “Unmodified Craft” or “Unmodified Strength”, you may use the current value (including bonuses from encounters and kills) but NOT from Objects or Followers.

2. CITADEL IN THE SKY: this moves clockwise round its current region, a space at a time, moving at the beginning of every player’s turn before they roll for movement. If it moves in to a space before a player has moved, they must encounter the CITADEL IN THE SKY before they roll for movement. If they miss a turn, they miss their current go and do not roll for movement.

3. CURSE SPELL: if a character rolls 0 movement, they must miss their turn. 

4. GUARDIAN CARDS: there are six Guardian cards (denoted by a red border). These guard the Valley of Fire and when a character enters this square, one of the six Guardians is put in to play at random. 


You must kill the Guardian before you may move in to the Crown of Command space. Only one Guardian will appear each game. 

5.
MIGHT: where an Enemy has MIGHT instead of Craft or Strength, this denotes that the Enemy has BOTH. Unless otherwise stated, you may choose whether you wish to combat an Enemy on Might either with your Strength or your Craft.

6.
TREASURE CARDS: there are some cards which are gained from other cards (the Kingmaker Sword, the Hellblade, the New God Priest). These cards may ONLY be gained from completing certain other requirements from an Adventure card (either completing the instructions on the card, making a purchase etc).


Treasure cards 



Gained from

Ancient Map



Secret Library

Artefact Key



The Lonely Spire

Great Transformation


The Ritual of Power
Hellblade




Ruined Crypt

Kingmaker Sword


Vortigan’s Lake

New God Priest



Temple of the New God

The Sorcerer’s Staff


The Dark Sorcerer

Talisman Champion Belt

A Time of Might

Tempest Wand



Necropolis (City of the Dead)

7. There are 6 new characters. The rules for these characters are on the card as normal, however, here is a more in depth explanation:

Minotaur - 
The Minotaur is a hulking brute of a character. He is incredibly strong and possessed of great endurance. He can therefore carry 5 objects. And yet, his inhuman physique means that he cannot wear Armour or a Helmet.


He always carries a great weapon with him, wherever he goes: his two horns. Just as combat begins, you can decide to Charge your enemy. However, you must know your enemy is there and accordingly, you cannot charge when you turn over an Enemy or when you are attacked by another character. A Charge adds 2 to your Strength for the current combat. The downside is that you always lose 1 Life: win, lose or draw, you lose that 1 Life. You do not lose 2 Life for a loss. 

Ranger - 
The Ranger has been trained all his life to walk amongst nature. He’s an outdoorsman extraordinaire, skilled at hunting and tracking his prey. This grants him a number of abilities:


First, he can re-roll a die in the Chasm, Crags or Chasm: if you roll and don’t like your result, you can make a second roll (only you must keep this result).


His tracking ability gives him a warning, hence he can avoid any Enemy or Character that might attack him by rolling a die and score 5 or 6. You may not use this ability when you attack.


Lastly, the Ranger can follow any Character that passes through the space he is currently occupying or begins their movement in the same space as him. When “Tracking” another character, do not roll the die, instead move to their new space. You do not have to encounter the Character but if you do, you may not use this ability to follow in your next turn. The ranger may not follow a character who has moved by any other means than rolling a die. Therefore a character whom teleports or is teleported, the raft or any other card of its ilk cannot be followed that turn.
Shaman - 
The Shaman is one with the natural world, attuned to the Life around him and this grants him power of the world beyond. He can combat Spirits (receiving +1 Craft in combat with them) and when he defeats them, he can use their energies to power magic (gain a spell).

The Shaman can also use this magic to gain abilities only one of his learning can master:


You may discard one spell (and only one) in your turn to heal 1 Life. 


Before a Psychic combat begins, you may choose to discard all the spells you are carrying, gaining +1 Craft for the current battle for each one discarded in this fashion. You do not gain any new spells until after the combat is finished.


Lastly, you may discard a spell to counter any spell cast at you. You may not counter the Command spell… 

Skinwalker -
The Skinwalker is man becoming beast. He is one with the animals and has mastered secrets allowing him to change his skin as one would change their clothes. 


Using this ability to shift his shape, when the Skinwalker would gain Strength, he may choose to gain Craft instead. The reverse is also true: if he would gain Craft, he may gain Strength.


His skin-changing abilities also allow him to adapt to a situation: in any combat, after the dice are rolled, you may discard 1 Life (and only 1 Life) to either re-roll your die or force your opponent to re-roll their die. Either you or your opponent must keep the new result.

The greatest of his skin-walking powers is the ability to choose to use his Strength score in Psychic combat or his Craft in normal combat. This is the current score, unmodified by Objects or Followers.


However, due to his bestial nature, no Human Follower (the Guide, the Maiden, the Prince or Princess, the Alchemist etc) will join his retinue. 


And the Skinwalker has little room for objects on his person, changing skins as he does. Thus he can only carry 3 objects instead of 4. 

Vampire - 
The Vampire is an undead creature that drains the blood of his enemies for sustenance. Any time he wins a fight against an Enemy (but not in Psychic Combat), he heals 1 Life. Any time he defeats another Character and forces them to lose 1 Life, the Vampire gains 1 Life.

He may drain the blood of any his Followers: discard the follower and gain 1 Life.


Due to his undead nature, he does not lose any Life in the Vampire’s Tower. Do not roll the die: the Vampire is safe here.


Yet, being undead means that you always lose 1 Life when you land on the Chapel, irrespective of your current alignment. 

Warrior Mage
The Warrior mage is a skilled fighter, both martial and mystically. He begins the game with a spell. Furthermore, any time he wins a combat (even Psychic), he can gain a new spell after the fight, if he does not currently have a spell.

He can also use his magic to initiate a Psychic combat against another Character (but may not when he is attacked).


The warrior mage may also use his magic to increase his martial or mystical prowess in combat: before combat begins, discard up to 3 spells. Each spell discarded in this fashion adds 1 Strength or Craft in the current combat. You may gain your spells as normal after the combat resolves. 
