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Read all instructions before proceeding. This PDF

is intentionally undersized in dimensions to print

cleanly on World A4 or USA Letter size.

Overview & Options:

Included are 9 cards (front and back) of a size equal
to character and/or alternative ending cards in the
commercial game.

Tools & Materials:
* Craft Knife, Cutting Mat, Large Triangle,
& Metal Ruler.
* Satin or Semi-Gloss Card Stock.
* Glue Stick.

1. Open your printer's settings dialog and

change the following (or similar):
Resize to fit: off
Margins: zero or full bleed
Position: center

2. Do not print instructions unless needed.

3. Print page 2 on plain paper to test color;
adjust as needed in settings panel.

4. Print one copy of Pages 2 to 10 on the
blank/white cardstock.

Score & Fold:

1. Use craft knife and metal (edged) rule to
lightly score once or twice between blue
crop marks until there is a perceivable line.
Do not cut through!

2. Fold the card along the score you made
and crease. Open the sheet and lay it flat
with the blank side up.

Glue & Dry:

1. Apply glue to the sheet's backside to the
full area of the card. (Place sheet against a
window pane for light through the sheet
to better see the card image area.)

2. Folder the sheet again and carefully rub it
to a smooth bond. Place it between two
sheets of clean scrap paper and weight it
with heavy books atop a flat surface. Allow
to dry for at least 1 hour.

Final Crop:

1. Place the folded edge against a vertical
surface (such as a countertop back) with
the card front up. Place your triangle
against the same vertical surface and line
its other edge with one red crop marks.

2. Score the lightly and repeat for the other
vertical red crop mark.

3. Line up metal ruler with the top two red
crop marks and score again.

4. Using score lines, complete all cuts to fin-

ish the card.

Printing:
OPTION: You may wish to take this
PDF to your local print/copy shop and
have it printed for you on the type of
card stock mentioned in "Tools &

Materials."

Not for use in part or whole except as intended.
Not for (re)distribtion in part or whole except
through Fantastic Diversions and/or authorized
distribution points. See FantasticDiversions.com
and its "shop" for further details. Please report
all violations.




2D6 COMBAT

1. CONDUCTING COMBAT

1.

All participants in combat (Battle or
Psychic Combat) roll and add together
two dice instead of one.

. All participants allowed to roll one or

more extra dice in combat still do so and
then choose which two dice to use.

3. All combat modifiers indicated by cards,

spaces, special rules, or other circum-
stances are applied as normal.

Advantages:

Automatic wins / loses decrease; the

2 OPTION: AUTO-WINJLOSE

|

game remains challenging in all phases.

Low Strength/Craft adventurers facing
unwinable combats in the game's earlier
phase gain a slight chance to win.
High Strength/Craft adventurers facing
auto-win combats in the game’s latter
phase have a slight chance to lose.

Disadvantages:

Extra 6-sided dice may be needed.
Minor extra game time may be needed.
NOTE: play-testing in 30 games showed
a maximum increase of 20% and an
average increase of 7% in play time.

2.

1. A participant in combat rolling a natural

2 (2.8% chance) automatically loses,

even if it has the higher total.

A participant in combat rolling a natural

12 (2.8% chance) automatically wins,

even if it has the lowest combat total.

. Any tied rolls of natural 2 or 12 (0.08%
chance each) are resolved as follows:

Adventurer vs. Enemy

e Double Loss: the combat is a draw or
standoff per the normal rules.
Double Win: the adventurer loses a
Life and/or suffers any other effects
from the Enemy as if defeated, but it
then keeps the trophy and proceeds
with its turn as for victory.

Adventurer vs. Adventurer

e Double Loss: the combat is a draw or
standoff per the normal rules.

e Double Win: both lose a Life and may
not choose any other option for
victory. The adventurer who initiated
combat (made the atfack) proceeds
with the rest of its turn.




BATTLE BREAKAGE 2

eapon and Armour breakage in 7alis-
man past editions occured via card
draws. Some players prefer a direct connec-
tion to Battle, where breakage truly occurs.

1. CHANCE OF BREAKAGE

1. Weapon or Armour may be rendered
unusable when:

a. In Battle a natural 1 is rolled while
using one or more Weapons. [If using
“2D6 Combat,” on a roll of 2 or 3.]

b. In Armour use a natural 1 is rolled
while attempting to save a lost Life.

. If any of these occur, the affected Object
or Magic Object must make a Breakage
Roll. If more than one Weapon was used
in Battle, the adventurer chooses which
one makes the roll.

2. BREAKAGE ROLL

1. Rolls depend on whether the Armour or
Weapon is an Object or Magic Object:
a. Object: roll one die; on a 1 it breaks.
b. Magic Object: roll two dice; on a 2 or
3 it breaks.
2. A broken Armour or Weapon is unusable
and must be discarded unless kept for

(1) repair or (2) use when a later Object

discard is required. They are not left on
a space.

3. REPAIRS

1. The Blacksmith may repair Armour and
Weapon “Objects” for half of their Pur-
chase price rounded down (min. 1G).

Examples:
e “Shield,” 3G / 2 = 1.5 (= 1G to repair).
e “Armour,” 4G/ 2 = 2 (= 2G to repair).

. Only the Enchantress may repair Armour
or Weapon “Magic Objects.” Miss a turn
and pay twice the Purchase price of an
equivalent Object (Sword, Shield, etc.).
Those without an equivalent cost 7G.

4. OPTIONS: LIMITS

O Weapons may be repaired once; mark
them with a token. On a second break,
they must be discarded.

l O If using Stackable Armour or the

“Graduated Armor System”: when an
Armour breaks, you may not attempt
further Armour rolls in the current Battle.




ARD-LESS

TROPHIE

ack of Trophies for defeated creatures

without a card to take has bothered some
players, since the risk and supposed experi-
ence in combat is rationally the same. The
common example is the “Cave” Place card.

Upon entering the Cave (optional in
Talisman 2E), a die is rolled to see what waits
therein. Aside from no treasure (gold) found
when something is there (yet gold is there
when it is empty), a Trophy is not gained if
an opponent is defeated. This is likely part of
why the Cave is now a forced encounter in
Talisman 4ER, otherwise few would bother
with it. The 2E Cave was seldom sought out
unless a character was desperate for gold;
| that was rare with gold just lying about to be
drawn. The card was most often ignored or
removed by Spell or Ability to free another
space for drawing Adventure cards. That is
still the case in 4ER, though it need not be.

Other cards and spaces have these same
| issues, but specific to Trophies, Talisman has
| no mechanic to track card-less victories. The
- following rules allow a compromise without
need of a Trophy “card” or fiddling about with
spare tokens in exchanges for Craft and/or
. Strength points.

T I. TEMPORARY TROPHIES

g

1. Upon defeating a creature generated or
designated by a non-Enemy card or a
board space, the player may count the Craft |
and/or Srength of the defeated creature as
a Trophy during the current turn. 3

. If the creature’s Craft and/or Strength is |
sufficient to exchange for a Craft and/or -
Strength point, the character may do so. |

. If the creature’s Craft and/or Strength is |
insufficient for exchange, the character
may use Trophies already gained to make
up the difference.

. The exchange for Craft and/or Strength
points must be made by the end of the
current turn according to rules 1.2 and 1.3
above. If not, any card-less Trophy points
are lost and cannot be claimed later.

2. EXCEPTIONS

1. The following creatures cannot be claimed
as cardless trophies if generate / listed for: |
b. the Inner Region, :
b. passing between Regions, |
c. aRealm’s (expansion board’s) end/exit, |
d. or an Alternative Ending.

AT e
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CLAIMING ATTACK_ 7~

—

Special Abilities related to Battle & Pyschic
combat limit use to when you “attack”
another “character.” However, the same
used against Enemies and creatures has no
such limitation. A character is considered
to be always on the “attack” (vs. being “at-
tacked”) when encountering anything but
another character. This has led to imbalance
in game play and player abuses.

Such abilities accelerate trophy acquis-
tion, Strength/Craft growth, potency vs. ex-
panion board end“ guardians,” and easier
wins (vs. other characters) against Alterna-
tive Ending opponents. The Assassin’s “as-
sassinate” ability is the most often cited
example but not the only one.

The assumption is that there is no way
to determine when Enemies and creatures
“attack” rather than are “attacked”; this is
false. The premise of awareness or “fore-
knowledge” of an attack can be determined.

1. CLAIMING "ATTACK"

1. A Special Ability or option requiring “at-
tack[ing]” may not be used for combat
against Enemies and creatures unless the
character has “foreknowledge” of the op-

ponent before encountering it. This

standard is used for exceptions not

covered by the following rules.

. A character is “attacked” (not “‘attack-
ing”) when encountering:

a. an Enemy just drawn,

b. an Enemy moved to its space with the
intent of attacking the character,

. any creature generated through a die
roll on a non-Enemy card or board
space,

d. a newly drawn Enemy after the option
to discard a previously drawn card.

. A character is “attacking” or on the

“attack” when encountering:

a. an Enemy face-up on the board,

b. an Enemy card chosen in a multi-card
draw,

c. a chosen space through non-rolled
movement listing an opponent (but
not one generated by a die roll), or

d. an Enemy card previewed through an
option or Special Ability and then
drawn before the end of the player’s
current turn.




“DEFENSIVE

COMBA

Defensive Combat is not the same as T

g

evade, which avoids Battle (or Psychic
Combat) before it begins. It is used as an
alternative in Battle when and where:

* the evade ability is not possesed or
requirements for its use cannot be ful-
filled, or

e the chance of defeating an opponent
is slim or clearly none.

Even so, Defensive Combat has a price for
a chance to survive Battle unscathed.

I. DECLARING "ON DEFENSE"

1. An adventurer may declare “on defense”
when attacked in Battle. It forfeits a po-
tential for victory for extra bonuses and
a chance to avoid loss of a Life.

. An adventurer may not declare “on
defense” in any turn in which it has used
a Special Ability, Magic Object, Object,
or Spell to affect an Enemy or another
adventurer. It has already gone on the
offensive in an alternative fashion.

3. All standard Strength and “in Battle”
modifiers from any applicable source still
apply. Add the following bonuses as
well:

e +1 for a Weapon wielded (only one).
o +1 for a “Shield” wielded (only one).

4. Only Objects and Magic Objects on an
adventurer and readied for combat are
counted for “on defense” bonuses; those
in baggage or carried by Followers may
not be brought into use.

2. DEFENSIVE COMBAT

1. Roll for Battle and...

o [f'the adventurer wins, the Battle is a
draw, though additional conditions
apply (see 2.2 below).

e If the adventurer loses, it may use
Armour to save a Life lost but not
with a Shield used in “on defense.”

2. Regardless of the outcome...

a. If the current turn is the adventurer’s
own, its turn ends immediately.

b. The adventurer may take no further
action in the current turn except to
face another assault via Spell, Special
Ability, Psychic Combat, or Battle.




FuLL ENC

Acharacter may engage either encounters,
one other character, or both in a space
it lands in. Because both types of encounters
are now possible in the same turn, the fol-
lowing special conditions are necessary for
when, if, and how one character chooses to
encounter another present.

. GENERAL RULES

1. A board space is not an encounter. Its in-
structions may generate encounters
through cards, a die roll, or other instruc-
tions. A board space is the environment
in which these (and other) encounters
occur.

. A space may have influences or effects
upon both encounters and/or characters,
such as found on the Desert, Runes,
Cursed Glade, etc. All characters on a
space are subject to all influences and
effects listed.

. A character may not ignore any space
effects or instructions because it intends
to encounter another character present.

2. ENCOUNTER ORDER
A. Follow all space instructions not related
to drawing cards.

B. Follow all space instructions related to
cards. Standard card encounter order still
applies with the following additions.

. Events.

. Enemies, Strength-based.
. Enemies, Craft-based.

. Strangers.

4.1 You may choose one character on the
space to encounter by one of the fol-
lowing methods: Special Ability,
Battle, or Psychic Combat (if allowed).
Spells and other accessory options
apply normally.

5. Followers, Objects, and Magic Objects.
6. Places.

3. OPTION: TRADE

Trade is an encounter option in addition to
those listed under rule 2.4.1. The character
in its turn may offer to buy, sell, or trade 1
Magic Object or Object, or a Follower that
also exists in Purchase card format (“Mule,”
“Horse & Cart,” etc.) The other character en-
countered may accept, reject, or counter-of-
fer once. If no trade is then achieved, the |
encounter ends. ‘ k




ften mistaken as “stackable” armour, T

the G.A.S. requires successive rolls for
Armour be made in descending order of
best to least protection. Failure—not suc-
cess—for the first Armour tolled is what
triggers use of the next one. If the least pro-
tective Armour is used first, such as in
other “stackable” armour house rules, then:

1) chance of saving a Life may decrease
slightly in some combinations,

2) more rolls by the odds must be made
during game play, and

3) chance of multiple equipment loss in-
creases when using the “Battle Breakage”
house rule.

[. USE OF MULTIPLE ARMOUR

1. Adventurers may use multiple Armour
when attempting to save a Life lost in
Battle. This does not apply to similar
protective Magic Objects for saving a
Life lost in Psychic Combat (Psychic
Armour, so to speak).

. All Armour or other protection to be used
during Battle must be readied (on the ad-
venturer). Once combat begins, Armour
or other like Objects or Magic Objects

Followers may not be brought into use.
3. Only one Armour of any type may be
used (usually determined by its title). For
example, two of a “Helmet” or “Helm”
cannot be used at the same time.

2. ORDER OF ARMOUR ROLLS

1. Armour rolls are attempted in descending
order of protectiveness by their count of
target numbers that save a lost Life.

Example: “Armour” has three target
numbers (4, 5, & 6), while a “Shield”
has two (5 & 6); the “Armour” is thereby
rolled first.

2. If differing Armour objects have the same
count of target numbers, then the adven-
turer chooses which to roll before the
other(s).

Example: the Warrior is defeated in
Battle but has “Armour,” “Helmet,” and
“Bracers” readied on him. The “Armour”
fails, and both “Helmet” and “Bracers”
save a Life on one target number (a 6).
The Warrior chooses to try the “Helmet”
first and then the “Bracers,” if needed.

stored in baggage and/or carried by




THE SEEK_
In myth and legend, adventurers sometimes T 2 ALONG THE WAY

abandoned wandering when dire need

required reaching a location known through-
out the land. Zalisman lacks movement rules
or mechanics for this (other than luck of a
roll or a spell), even when a space represents
such a well-known destination.

L

il

EXECUTING A SEEK_

. At the end of your turn, declare to seek

one uniquely-named, ror-draw space in
the Outer or Middle Region.

. On your following turn, if your character

is allowed to move, then roll movement
normally. You may apply modifiers based
on Special Abilities, Spells, Followers,
Objects, etc.

. Move along the shortest, most direct route

(by count of spaces) toward the declared
destination. The character must con-
tinue a seek until the declared destina-
tion is reached, regardless of changes
in the land seen by its player.

. If movement takes your character to or

beyond the destination, then you must
stop short on that space. You may not use
movement results to move farther to a dif-
ferent space. The seek now ends.

|

Because of your hurry and the advantages
of a seek, there are sacrifices.

1L

Required Space Instructions must be
applied, but you may not use options of
choice unit reaching the destination.

. Other Characters met may not be en-

counter by choice. However, they may
encounter you in their turns.

. Spells & Special Abilities may only be

used for what you do encounter directly.

. Drawn Cards are always encountered,

including keeping Objects, Followers, etc.
that you draw during your turns.

. Enemies in play on a space are always

encountered unless you can evade them.

. Objects, Magic Objects, & Followers in

play on a space, or any card that can be
Kept by choice, cannot be taken unless
required (Poltergeist, Hag, etc.). You do
not have time to find them in your rush.

. Strangers & Places in play on a space

are encountered if required (Cave, Witch,
etc.). All others offering opportunities of
choice cannot be encountered.

AT e




RUE FATE

Fate is destiny, large or small, placed upon
all individuals by “higher” influences. In
the Zalisman world, these influences might
be considered the Powers of the Alignments.
Afterall, anyone in the land can pray to them
to gain benefits... including Fate.

1. USE OF FATE POINTS

1. One Fate may be used to alter a die roll

for an adventurer’s own action, such as:

e Movement,

e Combat (Battle or Psychic Combat),
Rolls against Strength or Craft,
Special Abilities,

Praying or Invoking,
or optionally some Spells.

. Fate may also be used to alter rolls for
general encounters on cards or spaces
where no named or titled persona is men-
tioned as the source of the roll, such as
the Cave, Forest, Crags, Tavern, etc.

. Fate may not be used to alter the rolls of
other adventurers or (re)action rolls of
named or titled personas on cards or
spaces, such as the Enchantress, Mystic,
Witch, etc. They have their own destiny.

t
|
|

2. "LUCK
1. Spend one Fate to re-roll one die for
rolls designated in rule 1.1.

3. "DESTINY" (TRUE FATE)

1. Spend one Fate before a roll designated
in rule 1.1 to roll one extra die, and then
choose one die to discard and not use.

. This willful demand upon one’s Fate has
a price: you may not use another Fate
until your next turn.

4. OPTION: FATED SPELLS

O Any Spell requiring a single roll of one
or more dice is rolled by the caster—not
the target. The caster may apply Fate by
Luck or Destiny to the roll.

This applies to “Randomize” and all
similar Spells with a single roll of effects
outside of the target’s control.

O SUB-OPTION: if the caster does apply
Fate to a single roll Spell, the target of
that spell may then apply Fate by Luck
to re-roll one die involved.




