TALISMAN 4th EDITION ERRATA (v1.2)
 

RULE BOOK

 
1. On page 4, in Setting Up, it has "The diagram on page 5"; this should read: The diagram on page 6”

2. On page 6, Rule 1: bracket should read: (16: 1-11)

3. On page 6, in the Assassin description, the word “sneeks” should read “sneaks”

4. On page 6, in the illustration of the Minstrel set-up, there should be 1 red Strength counter and 4 blue Craft counters depicted.

5. On page 7, Rule 2:5 should read: 

Craft points may also be gained as a result of Encounters.

6. On page 7, the Example of a Turn should read:

The Minstrel lands on the Desert where there are 2 Gold Counters, the Maiden (a Follower), a Water Bottle, a Sword (Objects), a Wand and a Talisman (Magic Objects), which were dropped there by the Prophetess when she was turned into a Toad.
The Minstrel already has 3 Objects: Armour, an Axe and the Amulet (Magic Object). He can freely claim the Gold Counters and the Maiden. Since he can only carry 4 Objects (5:3), he must choose carefully what to take. The Water Bottle could be useful as he is about to lose 1 Life to the Desert. However, since he started with, and still has no spells but has a sufficient Craft to allow him some, he takes the Wand first and immediately draws a Spell Card from the Spell stock pile. It is a Healing Spell. A bit of good luck as now he can cast it on his next Turn to restore the Life he will lose to the Desert. He decides to ditch the Amulet by placing it face up in the Desert Space and to also take the Talisman. He now has his four Objects: Armour, Axe, Wand and a Talisman. 

He must now follow the instructions on the space, which is to lose 1 Life. His Turn now ends.

When he moves on his next Turn, the Sword, Water Bottle and the Amulet will remain face up in the Desert for the next Character who lands there.


 7. On page 9: The last sentence of 7: Alignment should read:

Alignment may change during the game as the result of Encounters or by the use of a Special Ability.
8. On page 14: The end of 14:9 refers you to rule 9:8 this should refer to 9:9



9. On page 15, the second last sentence of 15:2 should read:

If two of the same numbers are present, handle them in the order that they were drawn.

10. On page 15, rule 15:4 should read:

The instructions on the Card must be followed. Any that result in the loss of a Turn by the Character encountering them, end the Character’s Turn there and then. This counts as the missed Turn for that Character if there are other Cards yet to be encountered. Otherwise, they must miss their next Turn instead.
11. On page 16, the end of 16:4 and 16:8 refers you to "a Stand-Off (16:10)", these should read (16:11)

12. On page 16, there are two rules 16:10; the second rule (STAND-OFF) should be 16:11

13. On page 16, rule 18:2, 3) should read:

Any Creature depicted on an Adventure Card or Space that the Character does not wish to encounter, for example, the Hag, the Witch or Black Knight.
14. On page 17, rule 20:2, the first sentence should read:

They are treated in all aspects like Adventure Cards, except that instead of being placed on a discard pile when not needed, they are instead returned to their appropriate stock pile and available to other Characters once more.

15. On page 17, the "Example of Carrying Too Much" should read:

The Wizard has a Mule and is using it to carry 8 Objects. The Thief casts the Mesmerism Spell on him and takes the Mule. The Wizard can now only carry 4 Objects and so must immediately place 4 of the Objects in his possession face up on the Space (the Wizard's choice). The Thief may then claim them if possible, if he is on the same Space (12:1).
16. On page 18, the “Example of a Turn” all “Ruins” should read Runes
17. On page 20 (the back page), one of the arrows is pointing in the wrong direction. In the right hand column after "ENCOUNTER THIS SPACE" ( NO, there is the question "Are there any face up Cards there? (13:5)" The NO answer has the arrow in the wrong direction; reverse the direction of the arrow.

18. On page 20, the text "CARD ENCOUNTER Follow the rules (16:1-10)" should read: (15:1-10)

19. On page 20, in the right-hand column of options, after "If there were any Enemies, did you defeat or Evade them all?” the YES option goes to "Does the Encounter result in you missing a turn". The text should read:

Does the Encounter result in you being moved to a different Space? 

 
THE BOARD


20. DESERT - both Desert spaces should read:

Draw 1 Card and then Lose 1 life. Do not draw a Card if there is already one in this space.
21. VILLAGE - The Axe should be 3 Gold, not 2.
 

CHARACTERS


22. Dwarf - the Dwarf’s fourth special ability should read:

You need only roll 1 die if you attempt to open the Portal of Power by Craft.

23. Monk - the Monk's first special ability should read:

You may add your starting Craft to your Strength in Combat. 
24. Prophetess - The Prophetess’s third special ability should read:

Whenever you have to draw Adventure cards, you may discard one card of your choice that you do not wish to encounter and draw one more card to replace it, which you must encounter.
ADVENTURE CARDS

25. The Lion adventure card should have a 2 for its encounter number (not "3" as currently).


26. The Serpent Adventure Card should be an Enemy-Animal (not “Enemy-Monster” as currently).
27. The Orb of Knowledge adventure card should read:

Whenever you have to draw Adventure cards, you may discard one card of your choice that you do not wish to encounter and draw one more card to replace it, which you must encounter.
SPELL CARDS

28.The Psionic Blast spell card should read:

You cast this spell on yourself when you are about to engage in Combat. For that one Combat (not Psychic) only, the Spell allows you to add your starting Craft to your Strength to get your Strength total.
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